In order to do global configuration, it is necessary to be logged in as a global administrator.
Backup / Restore
The whole Sonar configuration can be backed up and restored. This includes : Quality profiles (rules + alerts), manual metrics, events categories, global settings section (plugins) and customization.
When restoring , it will wipe ALL existing configuration
No information about project configuration gets backed up (exclusions, links, quality profile associated...)